Tooele City is the only city in Utah administered under a “home rule charter” created under the Constitution of the State of Utah. All other cities and towns in Utah operate under forms of government established by the Legislature. The Charter, which was approved by voters in 1965, allows Tooele City to operate under its own rules of administration. The City Charter can only be changed by approval of the voters in a municipal election.  


Mayoral candidates must declare if they intend to serve as a part-time or a full-time Mayor and whether they intend to hire an assistant Mayor after elected. The Tooele Mayor functions as both the chief executive officer and the city manager. The Mayor serves a four-year term.

Department heads are hired and dismissed by the Mayor with consent of the city council. The Mayor also breaks a tie city council vote, and has veto power.

City Council

The City Council consists of five nonpartisan members, elected at large. Council members serve four year terms with no term limit. The City Council is the legislative body of the City. The Tooele City Council also functions as the Tooele City Municipal Building Authority and Tooele City Water Special Service District. Members of the council serve on several committees including Planning Commission, Council of Governments, Tooele City Library Board, Tooele County Council of Aging, Tooele County Board of Health, and Employees’ Grievance Board. The City Council meets on the first and third Wednesday of each month at 7:00 p.m. Meetings are held in the City Council Room, Tooele City Hall, 90 North Main Street.

The Mayor and members of City Council also function as the Executive Director and Board of the Redevelopment Agency (RDA) of Tooele City.